CLMOOC Digital Coloring Book Page

Getting involved in something like the CLMOOC make cycle is a little outside of my comfort zone. Though I may be enthusiastic about learning and using new technologies, I have never considered myself to be an artist. I’m not quick to think outside of the box and am much better with step-by-step direction.

My favorite piece of the CLMOOC mentality so far is the ability to dive in as far as you are comfortable and to take bigger steps as you’re ready. With that in mind, when I was invited to actually create a coloring book page I had no idea where to begin. I’m not an artist, but I knew that if I had any chance to create art I would want to use technology to do it.

I know myself and I know that I do better with a little direction. Fortunately, I found this blog post that walks you through using Adobe Illustrator to create art through repeating patterns. This is the exact direction that I needed. From here, I now had ideas and inspiration. However, I felt that I could branch out and make unique patterns now that I had a springboard to launch from.

I ended up using Adobe Illustrator for the first time ever and created what I consider to be a reasonably well-done pattern. This was much harder than I anticipated! I’m sure there were many tips and tricks that could have made this easier, but like any new technology you sometimes have to dive in and allow yourself to fail a few times.

I am a perfectionist. I spent longer than I should have trying to perfect every minute detail. And in the end, it turns out that it still isn’t symmetrical and it still has imperfections. At some point though, I chose to embrace the imperfect product and use it as a stepping stone as I continue to learn.

So here it is, a PDF version of my coloring book page.

2 thoughts on “CLMOOC Digital Coloring Book Page

  1. dogtrax says:

    I appreciate that you are diving into CLMOOC and moving outside of a comfort zone. CLMOOC is nothing if not a place to try something new and know that folks will be there to support you. As Algot asked on Twitter, I hope you can move this into the coloring book. Let me know if you need any help.
    Kevin

    Like

Leave a Reply

