Blogging: Part 2

We’ve officially made progress on the student blogs! Now that they’ve been set up, the kids and I spent a couple of hours customizing and creating the websites that capture who they want to be online. I’m so happy to have responsible students that can learn with me as we work on this together.

What I love so far about the blogging is that the students are beginning to see how running a website works. On top of the digital citizenship focus, they’re learning how to use a dashboard to manage a blog from within. Even though they are operating under student blogs, they have full control over their own website. They have learned how to customize the theme, settings, and avatars for their blogs.

As the students have been posting their first blogs, we’ve been really focused on citing sources for any images used. The students understand the purpose and I’m hoping that it becomes second nature to them. Here’s an example of a picture credit in one of the student blogs:

Credit

We also decided to create commenting guidelines for the blogs. These help the students understand why they’re commenting and how to write constructive comments. I’m having hit or miss responses with this so far. Some students when I tell them to comment say things like “Hi!” or “I like your blog!” However, other students are doing a really great job at trying to continue the conversation.

Below are some examples of excellent student comments I’ve seen so far:

Comment 1Comment 2
Overall my favorite part of this blogging experiment is how excited the students are. Whenever I announce that we’re working on our blogs, they become enthusiastic and start asking questions about ways they can customize their blogs. I’ve also had multiple students ask how they can access from home so they can keep working. So far, they continue to impress me and we’ve all learned so much already! I can’t wait for the students to begin reflecting on their learning now that they’ve set up the blogs.

To access our class blog, you can follow this link.

5 thoughts on “Blogging: Part 2

  1. jaycanaday says:

    This is so awesome! After talking for two quarters about blogging and how students might like blogging, it’s cool to see it taking shape in someone’s actual classroom. It’s very motivating that they are so interested in blogging and want to work on it at school and at home.

    I don’t know if it’s one of your commenting guidelines or not, but one of my rules to writing blog posts and comments is to always try to ask the audience a question. It creates a more dynamic conversation and it will give the students something solid to do every time they comment.

    Is that one of your guidelines though? The two examples you showed are clearly asking questions, which is great 🙂

    Like

    • vronvz says:

      I did include questioning as a guideline, but very few students have actually done it yet! I keep trying to remind them that blogging and commenting are ways to create and continue a conversation. Hopefully they’ll begin to see the purpose behind commenting and stop saying things like “I like your photo!” and leaving it at that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lina says:

    Like Jaycanaday said, “this is so awesome!” It’ so cool to read about my classmates implementing blogging into their K-8 classrooms, and how well they’re enjoying it along with their students. I think the fact that this new medium isn’t the conventional “teaching” style, blogging online perhaps translate to a new learning tool for engaging activities, promote writing, and collaboration in working together. I browsed through your class blog and found some funny questions and felt like commenting, but wanted to ask you if that would be okay first? Or are you able to moderate/approve it first?…

    Like

    • vronvz says:

      The great thing about these blogs is that I do have to moderate and approve everything that’s posted so it really increases the safety for my students! If you wanted to comment, absolutely go ahead! It would help emphasize to my students that they need to be putting their best selves forward because this truly is a public forum.

      Like

  3. kikadams says:

    I really like the commenting guidelines, I think I’ll use similar guidelines with my ELL students next week when we start using our blogs. Your blog set up also looks great, really easy to navigate and inviting to look at and read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

